Fire Commissioner Elections to Be Held Tuesday

Elections for fire commissioners will be held across the state on Tuesday. While there are no races on the South Fork, voters can still have a say over the boards that financially oversee fire and emergency medical services in their communities. 

A newcomer hopes to join the Board of Fire Commissioners in Springs in January. David Allen, a member of the Springs Fire Department, is running for the seat held for 25 years by Kenneth Brabant Sr., who is not seeking re-election. 

Mr. Allen grew up in Springs, where he lives with his wife and son. He first joined the Fire Department in 2002 and has been a lieutenant for four years. He has worked as a mechanic for the Town of East Hampton since 2001. "Growing up in Springs and being a member of the Fire Department, I looked forward to the opportunity to be fire commissioner, where I can be involved in the decisions that affect the community and the Fire Department," Mr. Allen said this week.  

The vote in Springs takes place from 6 to 9 p.m. 

In Montauk, Richard Schoen, who is the vice chairman of the board of fire commissioners, is seeking re-election for another five-year term, according to Dawn Lucas, the district's secretary-treasurer. He was elected in 2013, after serving as the Fire Department's chief. He had previously served as a commissioner. 

Barring any write-in votes, he will remain on the board with Joseph Dryer, the chairman, Michael Mirras, Richard Monahan, and James Wright. Voters can cast a ballot between 2 and 9 p.m. 

In Amagansett, Daniel Shields II is running unopposed to keep his seat on the board of fire commissioners. He is currently the chairman. The vote will be held at the Amagansett Firehouse on Main Street between 7 and 9 p.m.

In Bridgehampton, Bruce Dombkowski, who serves as the chairman of the board, is running for another five-year term. There are no referendums on the ballot this year.